Mark Childress, PC

Divorce, Child Custody & Family Law

Get Started With A


Main Menu

Creative Solutions

For Your Family Law Needs.

Subscribe to this blog's feed

Understanding child support cases

Not all Texas residents who pay or receive child support have the same type of child support case. In fact, there are four types of support cases created by Title IV of the Social Security Act of 1975. Title IV established the grants to fund aid and services to families and children in need. To understand how individual child support cases work, it is important to learn the differences between these four types.

There are three types of child support cases where the state provides services or assistance to those involved. IV-A and IV-E cases are automatically referred to the Office of Child Support Enforcement in an attempt to have the state recoup some of their costs. IV-A cases indicate those where the custodial parent receives public assistance from the state. IV-E cases are those in which custody is held by a relative other than a parent or the children are in foster care. In IV-D cases the Office of Child Support Enforcement assists the custodial parents with things such as locating the non-custodial parent, establishing paternity or even seeking a child support order.

On the other hand, non-IV-D cases are those where the non-custodial parent pays support directly to the custodial parent, usually after a divorce. If support goes unpaid, the case might then go to the Office of Child Support Enforcement so that they can attempt to get back the unpaid support.

Child support can become a very complex endeavor. However, the assistance of a family law lawyer might make the process easier. A lawyer may explain about the types of child support cases and which is best for their client. A lawyer may also be able to provide representation during court appearances as well as during any negotiations with the other parent.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information