Fort Worth DWI Lawyers
Aggressive Defense for DWI Charges in TX
In Texas, driving while under the influence (DWI) of drugs or alcohol is considered a criminal offense with serious ramifications. You can be accused of a DWI after having only a couple drinks, and you may be arrested for a DWI even if your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level is below the legal limit.
DWI Penalties for Adults in Texas
The factors that Texas takes into consideration when determining a DWI penalty include the number of previous offenses and the individual’s BAC level at the time of the DWI. Texas DWI offense penalties are as follows:
- DWI First Offense
Once you have committed your first DWI offense, you could be fined up to $2,000 and face anywhere between 3 days to 6 months in jail. Your license may be suspended as well. You may also need to attend a DWI educational program and install an ignition interlock device in your motor vehicle.
- DWI Second Offense
Texas takes these offenses very seriously, so your second offense will come with jail time. You could have to pay fines of up to $4,000 and face a jail sentence of anywhere between one month to one year. Your license will be suspended for up to two years and you may have to pay an annual surcharge to get it back. You might also have to attend a DWI educational program and install an ignition interlock device in your motor vehicle as well.
- DWI Third Offense
A third offense comes with up to a $10,000 fine and anywhere between 2 to 10 years of time in state prison. Your license can be suspended for up to 2 years. You could be charged a surcharge of up to $2,000 per year for three years to keep your license. You may also be required to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle and participate in an DWI educational program.
Additional DWI Crimes in Texas
If you pose a threat to another individual because of DWI, especially a child, the consequences are much more severe. These offenses get even more complicated if the individual you injured or harmed was a member of law enforcement, a fire fighter, first responder, or another emergency medical professional.
What Is the Legal BAC Level in Texas?
Under Texas law, an individual is considered legally intoxicated and can be arrested and charged with a DWI if he/she has a BAC level of .08 or higher. However, the law states that an individual is also intoxicated if he/she is impaired due to alcohol or another drug regardless of their BAC level.
Driving While Your License Is Invalid (DWLI)
DWI is not the only way you can get your license suspended. If you drive a motor vehicle and your license has already been suspended or revoked, you are driving while your license is invalid (DWLI). If a law enforcement officer pulls you over on the road at this time, your driver’s license will be suspended for an additional amount of time.
Arrested for a DWI Charge? Contact Our Fort Worth DWI Lawyer Today!
It is possible to reduce or dismiss a DWI charge in Texas, but you will not be able to do it alone. Contact us immediately for help with your DWI case. You have only 15 days after your arrest date to save your Texas driver’s license. Let us figure the rest out for you.
Contact us online or call us directly at (817) 497-8148 to book a consultation. Se Habla Espanol.
Direct Access To Your Attorney
Our Attorneys personally handle each case themselves. You will have direct access to your attorney to be able to get the answers that you need.
Honesty and transparency are critical in building trust with your attorney. You will always know what is going on with your case every step of the way.
At our firm you're not just a case number, our staff will always know the status of your case and help to make your situation more manageable.
Our team understands that no two cases are the same. Your strategy will be tailored specifically to you and your family's goals.