What Are the Penalties for DWI in Texas?

If you or a friend, family member, or loved one was recently arrested for a potential DUI, you may be wondering what kinds of penalties the alleged offender could face, or what types of evidence may be used against them in court. Today, we're covering those subjects in-depth, helping you get a better idea of what to expect from your case.

To schedule a consultation with our experienced DWI attorneys, contact us online or via phone at (817) 497-8148.

Evidence in Texas DWIs | Law Offices of Mark M. Childress

Today, we're looking at types of evidence in DWIs. Contact our office for help with your case!

What Types of Evidence Are Used in Texas DWI Cases?

Earlier this month, we wrote about the penalties individuals may face in DWI cases. If you or someone you know is facing a DWI charge, understanding the types of evidence that can be used against alleged offenders is equally important. Today, we're discussing the types of evidence that frequently show up in DWI cases.

Penalties for a First-Time DWI

In Texas, a first-time DWI can come with penalties of:

  • A fine up to $2,000;
  • Up to 180 days in jail, with at least three days of mandatory service;
  • Suspension of the convicted offender's driver's license for up to a year.

Penalties for a Second-Time DWI

Second offenders may be looking at:

  • A fine of up to $4,000;
  • Between a month and a year in jail;
  • Suspension of the convicted offender's driver's license for up to two years.

Penalties for a Third-Time DWI

Third-time offenders may receive:

  • A fine of up to $10,000;
  • Between two and ten years in jail;
  • Suspension of the convicted offender's driver's license for up to two years.

What Else Should I Know?

DWI cases often involve a number of factors, so estimating exactly what the penalties of a given DWI case can be is challenging. If the driver aggravates the severity of the DWI by taking actions such as driving with a child passenger or causing damages to property or people, they could face more severe penalties, or a different type of criminal charge entirely.

It's also worth noting that, for first-time offenders, there are sometimes options to alleviate the severity of the penalties, depending on the offender's actions. For example, an offender may be able to take a plea deal with prosecutors to get a DWI charge reduced to a different type of charge, such as a wet reckless, or have options such as serving community service instead of jail time. These alternatives are especially common in situations where the alleged offender is a minor, and the court doesn't want a DWI conviction to follow them for the rest of their lives.

Our attorney can help defend you in your DWI case. Contact us online or via phone at (817) 497-8148 to learn more about your options in your DWI case!