Fort Worth Theft Lawyers
Defense Against Theft Charges in Texas
If you have been arrested for theft or wrongly accused of committing theft, you probably have a lot of questions regarding the potential consequences you might face. Our Fort Worth theft attorneys can help answer your questions, provide you with legal advice, and fight to protect your rights.
If you need help with your Fort Worth theft case, give us a call today!
How Does Texas Classify Theft Offenses?
Under Texas state law, an individual has committed theft if he/she “unlawfully appropriates property with intent to deprive the owner of property.” Basically, this means that theft is taking anything that does not belong to you without the owner’s consent.
Texas classifies theft offenses based on the value of the stolen property, items, and services.
Is Theft Considered a Misdemeanor or a Felony in Texas?
This depends on the type of theft that was committed. Here is a breakdown of the types of misdemeanors and felonies you could get charged with – this varies according to amount of property/items/services you stole:
- Class C Misdemeanor Theft
This can be charged if the value of the stolen property/items/services was worth less than $50. The punishment for this offense in Texas is no more than $500.
- Class B Misdemeanor Theft
Theft is considered a Class B misdemeanor in Texas if the value of the property/items/services stolen was $50 or more but less than $500, or if the item stolen was a person’s driver’s license or additional ID card.
The punishment for this offense is a jail sentence of no more than 6 months and a fine of no more than $2,000 – or, in some cases, both.
- Class A Misdemeanor Theft
Theft is a class A misdemeanor in Texas when the value of the property/items/services stolen is $500 or more but less than $1,500. The punishment for this is a jail sentence of no more than a year, a fine that cannot exceed $4,000, or both.
- State Jail Felony Theft
Texas law defines a state jail felony theft when the value of the property/items/services stolen was $1,500 or more but less than $20,000. Firearms and livestock are included. The punishment for this type of theft is a prison sentence that ranges from 6 months to 2 years plus a fine that cannot exceed $10,000.
- Felony of the Third-Degree Theft
This offense happens if the value of the property/items/services stolen is $20,000 or more but less than $100,000. Livestock is included.
The punishment for this offense is incarceration ranging from 2 to 10 years of imprisonment and a fine that will not exceed $10,000.
- Felony of the Second-Degree Theft
Theft is a felony of the second degree in Texas if the value of the property/items/services stolen is $100,000 or more but less than $200,000.
The punishment for this is 2 to 20 years of imprisonment and a fine that cannot exceed over $10,000.
- Felony of the First-Degree Theft
If the value of the property/items/services stolen was $200,000 or more, it is considered a theft felony of the first-degree. The punishment is anywhere between 5 to 99 years in prison and a fine that will not exceed $10,000.
How Our Fort Worth Theft Attorneys Can Protect Your Rights
Theft crime is complicated – especially when you have another theft crime on your record. To ensure your rights are protected, contact an experienced lawyer at our firm. We promise to pursue the best possible outcome for your case.
Fill out a form online or call us at (817) 497-8148 to get started on your theft case.
Direct Access To Your Attorney
Our Attorneys personally handle each case themselves. You will have direct access to your attorney to be able to get the answers that you need.
Honesty and transparency are critical in building trust with your attorney. You will always know what is going on with your case every step of the way.
At our firm you're not just a case number, our staff will always know the status of your case and help to make your situation more manageable.
Our team understands that no two cases are the same. Your strategy will be tailored specifically to you and your family's goals.