In recent years, drug laws across the U.S. have changed significantly. Today, we're taking a look back at drug laws across our state, so you know what's legal (and what's not).
We'll help you navigate your drug crimes dispute. To schedule a consultation, contact us online or via phone at (817) 497-8148.
Is Marijuana Legal in Texas?
Unlike many other states in the U.S., Texas has not yet legalized the use of marijuana, and the state has harsh penalties for marijuana use and possession. The penalty for possessing two or fewer ounces of marijuana is a class B misdemeanor charge, which can result in up to 180 days in jail, and up to $2,000 in fines.
Possession of between two and four ounces can be penalized with a class A misdemeanor. Possessing more than four ounces of marijuana may result in felony charges of ascending severity depending on the amount of marijuana possessed. At the highest level, possessing more than 2,000 pounds of marijuana can result in penalties of life imprisonment and a fine of up to $50,000.
Texas has long had a history of restrictive drug laws for marijuana. In fact, the passage of strong drug laws regulating the use of marijuana in El Paso in 1915 is widely seen as the instigator of more restrictive drug laws across the U.S. as a whole.
However, things may be changing - albeit slowly. On June 15th, Texas Governor Greg Abbott signed legislation HB 1535, expanding the number of medical conditions for which medical cannabis is legalized in Texas. Individuals suffering from:
- Another seizure disorder;
- Multiple sclerosis;
- Terminal cancer;
- An incurable neurodegenerative disease;
- Post-traumatic stress disorder; or
- Another medical condition approved for research testing;
May all use medical cannabis, effective September of 2021.
If you're facing drug crimes charges, we'll help you find the best path forward in your case. Contact us online or via phone at (817) 497-8148 to schedule a consultation with our team.