Mark Childress, PC

Divorce, Child Custody & Family Law

Get Started With A

817-653-8122

Main Menu

Creative Solutions

For Your Family Law Needs.

Subscribe to this blog's feed

Texas denies over 14,000 registrations to noncustodial parents

The attorney general for Texas says that 14,779 vehicle registrations were denied to noncustodial parents since a new child support law went into effect in September 2016. The law allows the state to deny vehicle registration renewals to those who have gone six months or more without making a child support payment. Drivers are sent a letter 90 days before their registrations expire. It gives an explanation as to how they can get compliant with the law.

From there, drivers may take steps to take care of any issues related to past-due child support. If they are not taken care of within 90 days, an individual must work out a payment plan with the OAG. Once an arrangement has been made, the OAG will tell the DMV to lift the vehicle registration hold. In the last fiscal year, Texas collected over $4 billion in child support.

Between September 2016 and July 2017, the state had collected $3.85 billion in child support, and it is on pace to break its record from the previous year. In the past year, the state has received 12,138 complaints related to child support. Of those complaints, 3,500 were related to enforcement issues. Residents may submit official complaints online, in person or through the mail.

Making child support payments is generally considered to be in the best interest of the child. Therefore, parents who don't pay as ordered may face significant penalties. In some cases, they may have their passports suspended or lose the ability to register their vehicles. An attorney may be able to help parents who are struggling to make payments. In some cases, it may be possible to ask for a child support modification order. However, any past-due amounts may still need to be paid.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information